PDA

View Full Version : How to start design a structural frame? and whitch CAD package is suit for beginer

Ericyu
06-07-2008, 02:17 AM
Hello everyone,
I am a 21year old Chinese student, having a dream about cars since I was little. Last month I started a project, trying to design and make a space frame construction 2 seater car, The concept is similar to Ariel atom, but I don't want to copy it.
I have no experience of any CAD program before, so will you guys give me some point of how to design a structural frame? and which CAD package are more suit for beginers.
Your help are greatly appreciated.

Eric

Ericyu
06-07-2008, 02:17 AM
Hello everyone,
I am a 21year old Chinese student, having a dream about cars since I was little. Last month I started a project, trying to design and make a space frame construction 2 seater car, The concept is similar to Ariel atom, but I don't want to copy it.
I have no experience of any CAD program before, so will you guys give me some point of how to design a structural frame? and which CAD package are more suit for beginers.
Your help are greatly appreciated.

Eric

RiNaZ
06-07-2008, 03:15 AM
Eric, check with your engineering dept first whether they have some type of CAD program. If you want something for personal use and free, you can download Autocad Inventor from the autodesk website ...

http://students6.autodesk.com/

Another tip, you have a better chance of getting your question answered if you are very specific in what you want to know.

Ericyu
06-07-2008, 03:34 AM
Thank you RiNaZ,
I am a student of Wyotech China, we don't have a engineering dept, and since the program has just been in China for few years, I don't have much resource to get from it.
I really want to have a team, but I didn't find people interested in it, now I have to do in myself, after the design process, my father can get me some help on the fabracation.
I have got a copy of solidworks 2008 and the 30 day trial version of Alibre design,