PDA

View Full Version : Suspension Design Step by Step Process

Benn Hulbert
08-07-2013, 11:32 AM
Hello forum.
I'm fairly new to FSAE and suspension design. One of the overwhelming problems that I'm having is figure out the step by step process in designing the suspension system. I basically don't know where to start there is so much information. If you could give me a list from start to finish (1,2,3,etc)in terms of calculations and parameters to address, that would be great.
Benn Hulbert

Lemon Lime
08-07-2013, 12:16 PM
Hello Benn,

First warm greetings and afterward;

I'm a beginner too so don't take this as an expert talk ... I mean I'm just sharing what I know .

First; I want to tell you a tiny little thing ... Introduce yourself properly; name , country, team ... etc.

Secondly; There is a "Find" button at the utility bar up at the right just beside the "New" button, So try to search for your topic if it had been discused before so as to save time and effort.

About your topic it had been discussed quite alot, But I'm going to share what I got anyway.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

First; If you haven't already read RCVD "Race Car Vehicle Dynamics" then you must.

Secondly; Start by tires ... Study the pneumatic tires very well ... Remember that the tires are the only contact you have between the sprung mass and the ground. I remember watching a video where Mr.Claude Rouelle who is a famous FSAE judge and president of one of the leading companies in vehicle dynamics softwares "OptimumG" saying that if you know the forces acting on your tire contact patch then you will be able to choose a suspension template.