PDA

View Full Version : Damping Rates

Karam Atteia
06-28-2013, 11:29 AM
Hello everyone,

This is my first time dealing in such subject, the damping rates. I know that this topic is mostly through empirical and iterative researches. But i did an approach to damping rates selection for our front suspension. My references in this approach are Kaz Technologies Seminars, Optimum G technical Tips and RCVD.

Here some data about our vehicle:
total vehicle weight= 350 kg
front vehicle weight/corner= 77.5 kg
front unsprung weight/corner= 12.5 kg
motion ratio= 0.66
front ride rate= 19518.4 N/m
front wheel rate= 21429 N/m
Tire spring rate= 218908.54 N.m
front sprung ride frequency= 2.52 Hz
front unsprung ride frequency= 22 Hz
front sprung critical damping= 2460 N/(m/s)
front unsprung critical damping= 3464 N/(m/s)

Here some decisions taken for the approach:
Knee speed= 60 mm/s
Compression/Rebound ratio= 1:2
low speed damping ratio= 0.65
high speed damping ratio= 0.45

In this approach, The heave and single wheel bump were only took in consideration and nothing for the Roll and Pitch motions. We've done an estimation for our Roll and Pitch inertia and frequency, but don't know where to use. I need your experience in such a trim as we didn't make any track testing nor test rigs before since we started participating in the FS and i can't feel these numbers if it is in the right ballpark.

Here the calculated Damping Rates:
low speed compression damping rate= 1599 N/(m/s)
high speed compression damping rate= 1558.8 N/(m/s)
low speed rebound damping rate= 3198 N/(m/s)
high speed rebound damping rate= 3117.6 N/(m/s)

thanks for your attention

Karam

Claude Rouelle
06-28-2013, 02:42 PM
350 KG for a FSAE? Forget it!

Karam Atteia
06-28-2013, 02:50 PM
Mr. Claude,

with the driver, sir.

Please, give me your advice about these decisions and calculation results.