PDA

View Full Version : why should rear roll centre higher than the front?

NR-Cruelty
06-22-2012, 03:10 AM
hello everyone,
I'm from a young Chinese FSAE team. I have not enough experience to solve some problems. Anyone could help me?
(I'm not good at English, hope you can understand me and point out my errors, thank you! )

Question: some experienced designers give me advice about ensuring the rear suspension roll center higher than the front one, why is that?

My guess: the higher roll centre, the faster lateral weight transfer, this would make a car sharp in tight corner.

I always doubt myself about design. :-P

exFSAE
06-22-2012, 04:12 AM
There is no hard fast rule that your rear roll center should be higher than the front, just as much as there is no rule of what color your car should be.

The distribution of your lateral jacking force ratios is entirely up to you based on what YOU want the car to do.

acedeuce802
06-22-2012, 05:51 AM
Originally posted by NR-Cruelty:
My guess: the higher roll centre, the faster lateral weight transfer
You are correct about the higher roll center causing a quicker load transfer. So, why would you want the rear to transfer load quicker than the front? Well, you're approaching a corner, and you turn the wheel, the front tires get a slip angle and produce a lateral force. The rear tires haven't yet, until they get some slip angle. Therefore, the rear is lagging behind the front. Having the rear roll center higher helps the rear to "catch up" with the front.

NR-Cruelty
06-22-2012, 07:28 AM
acedeuce802,
Thank you very much.
But why we need the rear catch up with the front earlier?would a car be easy to spin if the rear catch up with the front in lag?

mech5496
06-22-2012, 07:48 AM