PDA

View Full Version : Master cylinders

hari3392
08-29-2012, 04:58 AM
hi,its my first time working on the brakes for our build.my question might sound naive but i wanted to ask whether using dual master cylinders from borrowed car is as good an option as getting/importing a proper branded(eg. a brembo one).

Dash
08-29-2012, 06:48 AM
Originally posted by hari3392:
hi,its my first time working on the brakes for our build.my question might sound naive but i wanted to ask whether using dual master cylinders from borrowed car is as good an option as getting/importing a proper branded(eg. a brembo one).

I have no experience dealing with finding a part off a car, but if you go through the calculations, you can find what sizes you will need. Wilwood offers quite a lot of options ( Plus they are pretty cheap ~~$60 per cylinder.) Tilton has some good options as well.

MCoach
08-29-2012, 03:53 PM
The first question you must ask is "can you find dual master cylinders on a car?"
Most only have one that has the two ports inline. The bores also tend to be way too large for our uses, unless you design for a 1"+ bore.

Warpspeed
08-29-2012, 04:59 PM
A master cylinder is about as simple as it gets, and nothing at all wrong with something from a production car.

Now many late model cars do tend towards having huge caliper pistons and large bore tandem master cylinders. But some older and smaller cars that had drum brakes did come with much smaller master cylinder bores.

Another option worth thinking about might be a couple of clutch master cylinders with a balance bar.

If you find something at a junk yard to try and do some testing with, and if it works, then a fully rebuilt replacement will be as good as new, but cost far less than new.

MCoach
08-31-2012, 02:56 PM
Originally posted by Warpspeed:
A master cylinder is about as simple as it gets