PDA

View Full Version : anti-roll bar design

Ax
12-13-2009, 06:54 AM
hey guys,
im designing anti roll bars for our car and i have hit a rough patch. i followed the formulae in RCVD( milliken)for doing my calculations to get ride and roll rates for a given cornering situation(first example case in chapter 16) now i realised that the example showed the method for deciding the rate for EITHER front or rear anti roll bars. But if we look at the roll analysis example that follows wherein we specify the required roll gradient, it calculates roll rates for BOTH front and rear ARB's. What is the difference between the 2 examples? Which one should i follow taking into account that this is my first time with an anti roll bar?
Also, we are looking to design a simple U-Bar attached to the bellcranks(push rod system) and the bar running under the chassis. How are such bars tuned for required roll stiffness after installation?

regards

Ax
12-13-2009, 06:54 AM
hey guys,
im designing anti roll bars for our car and i have hit a rough patch. i followed the formulae in RCVD( milliken)for doing my calculations to get ride and roll rates for a given cornering situation(first example case in chapter 16) now i realised that the example showed the method for deciding the rate for EITHER front or rear anti roll bars. But if we look at the roll analysis example that follows wherein we specify the required roll gradient, it calculates roll rates for BOTH front and rear ARB's. What is the difference between the 2 examples? Which one should i follow taking into account that this is my first time with an anti roll bar?
Also, we are looking to design a simple U-Bar attached to the bellcranks(push rod system) and the bar running under the chassis. How are such bars tuned for required roll stiffness after installation?

regards

R. Alexander
12-13-2009, 08:37 AM
The tech tips here should give you another perspective. I found it clearer.