PDA

View Full Version : lighten torsen & FEA

Scotto
05-21-2006, 08:25 PM
looking to lighten up the torsen housing.. but havin troubles doing an FEA model(COSMOS). just wondering what teams have done before to deal with this. im looking to use 7000 series Al, ive also heard stories that inserts are needed and arent needed(are the inserts really needed?) to be used for the friction surfaces(how do you model these surfaces too?)-and where are the exact loading points/loads? hope that makes sense.
any help would be grand as im a rookie on the subject

thanks
Scott

ps congrats to RMIT

Scotto
05-21-2006, 08:25 PM
looking to lighten up the torsen housing.. but havin troubles doing an FEA model(COSMOS). just wondering what teams have done before to deal with this. im looking to use 7000 series Al, ive also heard stories that inserts are needed and arent needed(are the inserts really needed?) to be used for the friction surfaces(how do you model these surfaces too?)-and where are the exact loading points/loads? hope that makes sense.
any help would be grand as im a rookie on the subject

thanks
Scott

ps congrats to RMIT

Underthefloor
05-22-2006, 01:35 PM
Hey Scott,

There is alot of information about the torsen if you search the forums. Personally, I would just use an open diff depending on how your suspension is set up.

John

Scotto
05-25-2006, 03:07 AM
i hada bit of a peak at the forums before hand with no conclusive luck, so this was really a bit of a last resort. the info i found seemed more like just a guess design and hope for the best, as opposed to an engineering reliant design(im sure im being a little naive with that statement). i guess im chasing the appropriate design protocol and execution. as for the open diff, we already have the torsen in place and it seems to be truckin very well, perhaps next year we'll look for something else.

thanks
Scott

jdstuff
05-25-2006, 07:56 AM