PDA

View Full Version : radiator calculation

harini
07-22-2006, 03:02 AM
hi..
i was wondering how to measure the speed of air entering and leaving the radiator.Also what formulas do you use to calculate the number of fins per square inch and the number of tubes required in the radiator.this is my first year so dont know much on how to go about this.any help will be great. thanks.

harini
07-22-2006, 03:02 AM
hi..
i was wondering how to measure the speed of air entering and leaving the radiator.Also what formulas do you use to calculate the number of fins per square inch and the number of tubes required in the radiator.this is my first year so dont know much on how to go about this.any help will be great. thanks.

BeaverGuy
07-22-2006, 04:44 PM
Here are my suggestions regarding design, go read the section in your heat transfer text about heat exchanger design then grab a copy of Compact Heat exchangers by Kays and London. Then go write a program like thisRadiator Evaluator (http://home.comcast.net/%7Ejoshuagillett/Radiator_Evaluator.htm) The reason for the program is two-fold. First, the detail design of a heat exchanger generally requires information you don't have and several iterations until your initial "guesstimate" is sufficiently close to the calculated value. With an automtive "radiator" type heat exchanger there are at least 2 values where this is the case and depending on your idea of "sufficiently close" and your iteration method it can take a lot of iterations to solve. Lastly, is why would you ever want to solve the same problem twice when you can solve it once(writing a fomula or program) and be done with it?

TPS
07-27-2006, 02:22 AM
Remember it is not only about the size of the Heat Exchanger there are many other factors involved in the design of an efficient cooling system.

harini
07-27-2006, 07:25 PM