PDA

View Full Version : Whos building their own Traction Control System?

Popee
10-19-2006, 12:25 PM
Hi, as the title really! Im an Electronic Engineer tasked with designing a Traction Control System for this years car.

I was wondering how many other teams are building their own, and how are they going about it?

Im looking at retarding the ignition to limit torque. It should give me better control that a simple ignition cut, but I fear im opening a can of worms with regards to have how far I can retard the ignition without getting the EGT too high and damaging the exhaust valves! Also how much torque will be lost by retarding the ignition.

We have just got our bike and its being run in. Hopefully get it on the dyno soon and play about with the timing.

Also what microproccesors are people using? Initially I was looking at a PIC18Fxx, but I dont think it will be fast enough for my control system.

regards,
Lee

Popee
10-19-2006, 12:25 PM
Hi, as the title really! Im an Electronic Engineer tasked with designing a Traction Control System for this years car.

I was wondering how many other teams are building their own, and how are they going about it?

Im looking at retarding the ignition to limit torque. It should give me better control that a simple ignition cut, but I fear im opening a can of worms with regards to have how far I can retard the ignition without getting the EGT too high and damaging the exhaust valves! Also how much torque will be lost by retarding the ignition.

We have just got our bike and its being run in. Hopefully get it on the dyno soon and play about with the timing.

Also what microproccesors are people using? Initially I was looking at a PIC18Fxx, but I dont think it will be fast enough for my control system.

regards,
Lee

formula_wally
10-19-2006, 03:41 PM