PDA

View Full Version : Turbo/ Super Charged Torque and Power Curves

oz_olly
01-09-2007, 02:57 AM
Hey

I am doing my thesis on transmission selection in formula SAE and as such I would like to get my hands on some forced induction torque and power curves. My proposal is as follows - the ideal transmission would allow you to operate at constant power so for a peakyish naturally aspirated torque curve you need infinite gear ratios to achieve this as the rpm range of peak power is so small i.e. a CVT. However I feel that with a turbo sort of torque curve you can more or less operate at constant power through careful selection of gear ratios and possibly few gears as FSAE doesn't go so fast.

So to get to the point I would be extremely greatful if anyone from a forced induction team would be willing to send me torque and power curves in the tabulated form i.e. an excel spread sheet, although a plot would also be good. I have seen the plots on this page but if i could get tabulated data it would be the big wicked. Anyone who helps be out will be fully acknowleged and I will even devote an entire paragraph explaining all the kudos that this individual will have brought upon themself.

If willing to help please email to m.olsen@student.adfa.edu.au

Cheers

Olly

Team Leader
ACME Racing
UNSW@ADFA

oz_olly
01-11-2007, 02:41 AM
I would like to publicly extend my sincere thanks to Mr Michael Royce for being kind enough and interested enough to forward my request to William Wattard. For those who don't know he designed and built his own parallel two cylinder engine for FSAE, he has written several papers on the work he and his research partners have completed mainly concentrating on the benefits of forced induction. His work is of an extremely high standard and I have been genuinely inspired by his work ethic and dedication. Big thanks to William and congratulations on the awesome work.

Cheers

Olly

Team Leader
ACME Racing
UNSW@ADFA