PDA

View Full Version : Programmable ECUs

Hiten
03-11-2008, 02:11 AM
Hello, I am a masters student studying at the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University in Port Elizabeth, South Africa and would like to do my master thesis on the Formula student car, particularly the ecu. I would like to find out if there have been any teams that have developed their own programmable ecu's or do teams just purchase aftermarket programmable ecus?

Thanks

Hiten
03-11-2008, 02:11 AM
Hello, I am a masters student studying at the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University in Port Elizabeth, South Africa and would like to do my master thesis on the Formula student car, particularly the ecu. I would like to find out if there have been any teams that have developed their own programmable ecu's or do teams just purchase aftermarket programmable ecus?

Thanks

Erich Ohlde
03-11-2008, 02:44 AM
3 main methods for fsae/fstudent:
1)purchase a programmable ecu, (AEM, Motec, Performance Electronics, Electromotive, Bosch)
2)purchase a 'piggyback' unit, modifies the stock engine computers fuel and ignition signals, e.g. Power Commander
3)build your own, check out mega-squirt.

Hiten
03-11-2008, 03:00 AM
Thanks for your reply. Have there been any successfull custom built ecu's?

screwdriver
03-11-2008, 03:53 AM
Yes, check out
http://www.megasquirt.info/

There aren't many DIY ECUs out there, I know about. The only team I can think of that did that was TU Munich, which only sort of worked. I also don't know the details about their system, but I suppose that they didn't build it from the scratch.

Tech Guy
03-11-2008, 06:10 AM
I believe Cornell has built their own ECU for many years.

Biggy72
03-11-2008, 09:23 AM
We got our first engine up and running last week with megasquirt II. Sounds pretty good and we haven't hardly messed with the base map at all.

jrickert
03-11-2008, 10:13 AM