PDA

View Full Version : differential calculations

himanshudave
07-25-2008, 03:49 AM
Hello, i am a beginner. I need certain guidelines to start my work over the drivetrain and some detailed information on differential i.e differential calculations etc. whatever u think can be helpful.

himanshudave
07-25-2008, 03:49 AM
Hello, i am a beginner. I need certain guidelines to start my work over the drivetrain and some detailed information on differential i.e differential calculations etc. whatever u think can be helpful.

J.R.
07-25-2008, 04:10 AM
First make sure you need a differential for your car! Dropping it is a good way to lose weight/ cost, and we placed 14th in the enduro running a solid rear at MIS this year. If you're a beginning team, keep the car as simple as possible, building these things takes a lot more time than you think.

If you're still convinced you need one read the Carol Smith Books, and Race Car Vehicle Dynamics by Milliken. That should help you out to start.

Natho
07-25-2008, 06:03 AM
There are many different paths you can take in regards to differential/drivetrain in general. In formula sae you see a wide range of setups depending on the characteristics of the vehicle. Most teams seem to run some sort of limited slip diff to enable enough tractive effort through cornering.