PDA

View Full Version : Suspension Basics

Lemon Lime
04-22-2013, 07:50 AM
Hello Everyone , I'm really new to FS and I was just wondering if you can help me sorting this one out ; Alright I was wondering if a great caster angle ( Say like 11-14 degrees ) for the front wheels would affect the understeering value or whether gonna change steering at all ?! and I was wondering if a great kingpin inclination would help in steering ( WHY USE KINGPIN OTHER THAN THE FACT THAT IT HELPS TO REDUCE STEERING FORCE ) One last thing ; I was looking for good books about suspension and kinematics any help on that ?! ... Lots of questions I know ... Sorry !! ... Thanks alot in advance and Thanks alot for your attention and your time . http://fsae.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

paufdencamp
04-22-2013, 09:12 AM
For a cursory treatment of the topic, Caroll Smith isn't bad, though personally I found him kind of hand wavey at times. Milliken's book is great, RCVD is what I live by when it comes to this competition. The problem you have with excessive kingpin inclination is in extreme cases it can lead to excessive camber which can reduce grip, but the more immediate problem in my opinion/experience is the reduction of valuable steering feedback. Read Chapter 2 of RCVD where he talks about aligning torque as a function of slip angles and lateral G's, that should clarify why excessive kingpin angles aren't that great for this competition.

BillCobb
04-22-2013, 02:25 PM
Caster has a large effect on vehicle understeer but it MAY be the only understeer component in your car.

Lemon Lime
04-22-2013, 02:58 PM
@ paufdencamp ... Thanks alot for the valuable information ... infact I've read Carroll Smith's Tune to win and I'm currently reading RCVD ( Race Car Vehicle Dynamics) but I was lookin' for more advanced tips and more about kinematics .. Anyway , Thanks for your valuable time Apperciated http://fsae.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Lemon Lime
04-22-2013, 03:01 PM