PDA

View Full Version : question about steering system

MSA
05-18-2007, 01:30 PM
hi.I and my friends are designing our first car.I am working on steering system.I have studied some books obout steering systems and state of vehicles in turning.For example I studied "fundamentals of vehicle dynamics" by gillespie.in chpater 6 it has discussed about steady state cornering and ackermann geometry and understeer gradient and ... but I think we dont have many of these parameters to calculate understeer gradient and steering angle .for example we dont have lateral stiffness of tyres.so I want you to guide me what should I do.What do you calculate for designing the steering system.Are these equations are useful for us?And what is the procedure of designing the steering system?
thanks!!

MSA
05-18-2007, 01:30 PM
hi.I and my friends are designing our first car.I am working on steering system.I have studied some books obout steering systems and state of vehicles in turning.For example I studied "fundamentals of vehicle dynamics" by gillespie.in chpater 6 it has discussed about steady state cornering and ackermann geometry and understeer gradient and ... but I think we dont have many of these parameters to calculate understeer gradient and steering angle .for example we dont have lateral stiffness of tyres.so I want you to guide me what should I do.What do you calculate for designing the steering system.Are these equations are useful for us?And what is the procedure of designing the steering system?
thanks!!

benjo
05-19-2007, 12:19 AM
Perhaps you should have the data for your tyres? Have a look around on the net theres lots of papers about teams starting out and lots of people recommend making a tyre choice first. After all, tyres are the only thing keeping you in contact with road. Surely they must be an important design choice.

Jersey Tom
05-21-2007, 12:16 PM