PDA

View Full Version : Conicity, ply-steer and others effects in Pacejka tire model

ThreeColours
01-01-2013, 01:06 PM
Hi, folks. I've been reading you for a long time.

I'm studying about Pacejka tire model and I don't understand why we don't correct the effect of the conicity and ply steer in the model. For instance I've seen some projects about that and they didn't correct these effects in the model. Why ? These effects are due to the manufacturing process, they are different for each individual tire, and we can know it easily.

Cheers

BillCobb
01-01-2013, 01:33 PM
Many users do correct for ply steer, ply R.A.T. and conicity in their tire models. Their efforts depend on many needs. You incorrectly state that 'we' don't address this. We sure do.

FYI, conicity and plyrate are specified in O.E.M. tire specification to address various performance attributes in production vehicle engineering. In race tires, these characteristics are 'managed'.

Search for S.A.E. papers written on this subject and read them.

ThreeColours
01-01-2013, 02:23 PM
Thanks for your reply, BillCobb.

When I say "we" I don't speak about you or others forum users. I speak about some team members projects that I could see about suspensions design. Sorry but my english sometimes (always, perhaps) is not enough.

In Pacejka model (at least in pure side slip) is extremely simple to correct the vertical and horizontal shifts: For zero camber and fix vertical load I've calculated Sh and Sv and I've deducted this amount for the following curves. For this reason I don't understand why some team members didn't. I'm newbie I thought that, perhaps, I was forgetting some important aspect. Of course, I don't want that.

Sorry, What do you want to say with "O.E.M" ?

Cheers

JT A.
01-01-2013, 03:32 PM
O.E.M. stands for Original Equipment Manufacturer, meaning the companies that produce cars like Honda, Toyota, GM, etc.