PDA

View Full Version : wireless data transmission

tsf14
03-17-2011, 08:47 PM
Hei everyone, new to the forum here.

i'm still new to fsae, so i'm a bit jittery about certain aspects about the race and the car, but i'm learning.

many teams have implemented real-time wireless data transmissions over the years, so i was wondering- what kind of technology is most popular to the teams, that meets both budget and requirements? there are teams that uses xbee, serial wireless, etc but what are the basic pros and cons making one preferable to the other?

is there any rules/regulation i should be aware of?

thanks a lot.

B Lewis @ PE Engine Management
03-18-2011, 07:36 PM
Depends on what you are trying to do. We use wireless Ethernet with our ECUs for a low cost solution for FSAE teams and other racing apps. Depending on your antenna, it works pretty good for short ranges.

wweissin
03-18-2011, 09:00 PM
Brian is spot on with using a wireless router being a good solution for FSAE. How ever I feel I must point out that Telem is outlawed in most professional racing series. And for FSAE at the track it is my opinion that you would be better served by focusing attention to other more important aspects of you electronics package. However, with that said it can have its merits when practicing by keeping a driver from damaging a car if he is not watch certain aspects of the car.

tsf14
03-20-2011, 08:36 AM
wireless router seems to be alright, but the range is a bit too low for practical real-time data transmission. is anyone familiar with xbee? technically it has the potetial to serve the purpose, but i personally only heard of this a few days ago.

(yes, this is basically a novelty idea, but our electrical package didn't evolve much from last year's design, so i was thinking about adding a bit of a flare here!)

B Lewis @ PE Engine Management
03-20-2011, 09:10 AM
What range are you interested in? With an industrial router and good antenna you can get pretty good range.

BMEP