PDA

View Full Version : ECU software and testing

Aly
09-16-2011, 02:35 PM
I'm new to working on ECU's
I wonder if there is a known procedure for testing the ECU performance...
Is it useful to simulate the ECU using certain software?
I didn't find any such software to simulate the ECU ...
please help
any ideas how to start on a good procedure for the ECU
thanks

Aly
09-16-2011, 02:35 PM
I'm new to working on ECU's
I wonder if there is a known procedure for testing the ECU performance...
Is it useful to simulate the ECU using certain software?
I didn't find any such software to simulate the ECU ...
please help
any ideas how to start on a good procedure for the ECU
thanks

Mbirt
09-16-2011, 03:01 PM
If you're using a member of the Megasquirt family, it is useful to have a "stim." Megasquirt Stimulators (giggity) (http://www.msextra.com/doc/general/stimtesting.html) The Megastim and JimStim are both useful for simulating sensors and testing the ECU's response in the tuning software. They're especially helpful if you've modified the ECU or are diagnosing a problem.

Some controllers can be calibrated with Matlab/Simulink and I'm guessing that setup would allow you to "simulate" everything pretty easily.

wweissin
09-16-2011, 03:06 PM
The real question is why? What are you hoping to accomplish. Have you built your own ECU and need to test it. To you want to see if a manufacturers ECU does what it clams to do?

Aly
09-16-2011, 03:19 PM
wweissin

the issue is that we have an ECU of a team that their car never worked
so I need to know weather it's working well or not

besides they want to upload different maps and test to see which map is optimum and use it

Aly
09-16-2011, 03:30 PM
by the way our engine is a
GSX-R600
of a suzuki race motorcycle coming with its own ECU

how can I work on such an ECU
what tests should I conduct
http://fsae.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

wagemd
09-16-2011, 03:42 PM