PDA

View Full Version : de Dion axle

Cherian Thomas
09-20-2005, 05:55 PM
I'm new to this FSAE business, and I'm trying to compare a de Dion rear end with the usual double wishbone setup. I was wondering if anyone could offer their opinions.

Ignoring unsprung weight and packaging concerns, on a smooth track (and how smooth is an FSAE track?) it seems to me that the lack of camber compromise with a de Dion makes it superior to the traditional IRS. Am I missing something? And if it is better, don't the same arguments apply at the front end as well? How much of an issue is the increase in US weight?

Would love to hear from Paul Clausen and anyone involved with Brown's de Dion cars.

Regards,
Cherian Thomas

PS: Just read Z's post where he reckons a solid rear is a performance advantage. I guess what I'm really wondering is why more teams don't go for this setup?

Cherian Thomas
09-20-2005, 05:55 PM
I'm new to this FSAE business, and I'm trying to compare a de Dion rear end with the usual double wishbone setup. I was wondering if anyone could offer their opinions.

Ignoring unsprung weight and packaging concerns, on a smooth track (and how smooth is an FSAE track?) it seems to me that the lack of camber compromise with a de Dion makes it superior to the traditional IRS. Am I missing something? And if it is better, don't the same arguments apply at the front end as well? How much of an issue is the increase in US weight?

Would love to hear from Paul Clausen and anyone involved with Brown's de Dion cars.

Regards,
Cherian Thomas

PS: Just read Z's post where he reckons a solid rear is a performance advantage. I guess what I'm really wondering is why more teams don't go for this setup?

Z
09-20-2005, 06:10 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Cherian Thomas:
Just read Z's post... </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Cherian,