PDA

View Full Version : Ricardo Input

Samy
12-19-2010, 09:40 AM
hey,
i m working on Honda cbr 600f4i n i m using ricardo for simulating it....It's my first time using this software. Can any help me out in getting inputs like curve for throttle position vs rpm vs burn duration vs pulse width for fuel injection. Can anybody let me know the procedure to get the graphs mentioned above????
Also i m not having my engine unassembled, so if anyone could help in getting data like piston, liner and head thickness???
thanks

samy

Samy
12-19-2010, 09:40 AM
hey,
i m working on Honda cbr 600f4i n i m using ricardo for simulating it....It's my first time using this software. Can any help me out in getting inputs like curve for throttle position vs rpm vs burn duration vs pulse width for fuel injection. Can anybody let me know the procedure to get the graphs mentioned above????
Also i m not having my engine unassembled, so if anyone could help in getting data like piston, liner and head thickness???
thanks

samy

Jay Lawrence
12-20-2010, 09:11 PM
With Ricardo, i found that in order to do any meaningful work you need to build and fully test the engine before even attempting to place it into the software (for example, piston top temperature vs. RPM....). Many of the inputs for Ricardo are beyond the resources of a FSAE team. You're better off with a dyno and some workshop resources to make stuff. I tried very hard to model a F4 on Ricardo and in the end it was very difficult to gain much meaningful data (tried to put our turbo on there too, didn't like it). However, by using the Ricardo suggested inputs and some common sense / simple calcs you can build a basic engine that can be used to come up with some trends (eg cam timing and lift, injector spacing, etc).

If you're not having your engine disassembled you are missing out on a good learning opportunity (unless you know it inside out already)

Samy
12-20-2010, 10:35 PM