PDA

View Full Version : Rod End Inserts instead of The whole?

Necrobata
10-09-2011, 05:54 AM
Hey guys! ive been reading a little bit about what judges like and dislikes, and one of those things they dont like (that i have heard) is when a car has a double A arm suspension and the node that goes on the tire has a Rodend.

The explanation was (and here i come with my unborn language) that if you align the nodes, being nodes the holes of the RodEnds, some arm configuration has no tubing in that imaginary line between the rodend holes.

Maybe with some pictures it might be a better world ofr all of us:

We dont want this: http://tinyurl.com/454beb6

We want this: http://tinyurl.com/3dbmuau
And this: http://tinyurl.com/4ypuqo9

Now this is my first year in the team, and i wanted to know a few things before getting into designing.

I know tht Rodend are not used here, so ppl use Rod end inserts like this: http://secure.chassisshop.com/partdetail/COM10-T/
And my question is, how do you guys fit it in the hole of the node i want to make? is it welded? cuz ive seen several models like this and i see no weldment trace :S also, what if the construction of the base isnt well made and the insert doesnt fit or ends up hanging freeley inside of it?

Is this design advisable? works very well?

Plz advice! and thans for reading!

PatClarke
10-09-2011, 06:10 AM
As a Design Judge who loathes 'Rod ends in bending', I can tell you there are many more very important reasons why you don't do that.

Your second example has some design issues too!

But, yes, encapsulated spherical bearings, used properly are a good solution.

Pat

PS, congratulations on doing some research before posting your request.

Demon Of Speed
10-09-2011, 09:42 AM
Originally posted by Necrobata:
I know tht Rodend are not used here, so ppl use Rod end inserts like this: http://secure.chassisshop.com/partdetail/COM10-T/