PDA

View Full Version : Team Management

Aaron@Kaist
07-05-2008, 12:16 PM
Greetings Fellow FSAEer's

I guess its around time for a lot of teams to begin planning their recruiting events etc...Anyways, I have questions regarding team management. As the team manager it has been hard for me coordinating the team etc, mostly because I lack the tool most commonly used in the real world...Money..haha When I worked as a manager as various companies, it would be simple to control people using tools like commission and work hours etc, but here that tool seems to be non-existent.

Our team structure is that we have a marketing team, engine/power/drive line team captain, chassis suspension captain, and electronics captain.

The biggest problem however is motivating the students. We know that all of the students have joined have a common interest in motorsports and that they are commited to the cause, but it always seems as if they have something else as a priority. Of course this isn't the case for many members as I have some team members who spend day and night pondering about how to build the car. How do you guys get around to motivating your members? How do you spend your winter/summer vacations?

Also regarding marketing/sponsorship, it seems as 70% of our operations seem to be revolving around acquiring resources and sponsors, seems this portion of the program is much larger and "heavier" than the technical aspects...is this a stable approach to management or should more man power be allocated to technical problems?

Biggest question however, is..how do you train your freshman??? I'm sure not everyone joins the team as pro mechanics, and you guys must have some way of distributing your skill and professional know-how to the newbies, how do you do this? Our team has 17 freshmen...no sophs juniors or seniors...so I'm glad we have a team full of very promising members, but I was wondering how you manage the learning process.