PDA

View Full Version : First post, and some Jawa questions

Salmon On The Beach
07-07-2013, 03:47 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm from the University of Newcastle SAE team and this is my first year of being involved in SAE. Whilst I am doing little bits of work here and there, I am primarily focusing on optimising the performance of our current CBR600 engine and also engine selection and associated design for next years car. We have a dynamometer in an engine test cell that will hopefully allow us to carry out all the required testing.

We have more or less decided that the good power and torque at high rpm of the CBR just doesn't get used enough to justify its weight and fuel consumption. We are keen to try out a CVT next year as opposed to the fixed ratio integrated bike gearboxes that we have used in the past, and at the moment we have been thinking it would be cool to use a 500cc Jawa speedway engine. I'm sure many of you are at least somewhat familiar with this engine, but for those that aren't it is a single cylinder, air cooled design. You can check out the engine here if you'd like to know a bit more about them http://www.speedwaybikes.com/cody/cody03.htm

So, after looking into the Jawa I have a few questions:

- Fitting an electric start: Anyone know if this has been done, or have any ideas how it could best be done?

- Fitting an alternator: Same question really, anyone know if another team has done this or have any idea of the best way to fit a charging system to an engine that doesn't have one standard?

Any advice would be much appreciated, and I will do my best to document on this site my progress with the engines.

Have a good time all the time guys

Scott Wordley
07-07-2013, 04:50 AM
I think Kev from ECU said it best...

"In FSAE you buy an appropriate gearbox and get the engine for free"

I would have to agree with him.