PDA

View Full Version : Packaging Issues with New Template Rule

Stocky Fast 1
09-22-2008, 07:08 PM
I have been working with designing the pedal box for 2009 and due to the new template rules, I have been unable to fit a pedal box that allows for the proper motion ratio in our system. I have clearance issues with the steering rack because it has to be moved to the bottom to make room for the template. Any other teams having packaging issues?

As well I seem to be having trouble finding a production caliper to help offset the loss in the motion ratio. Anybody know of caliper in the 1.25" diameter variety with a pad of similar size.

Mike

Stocky Fast 1
09-22-2008, 07:08 PM
I have been working with designing the pedal box for 2009 and due to the new template rules, I have been unable to fit a pedal box that allows for the proper motion ratio in our system. I have clearance issues with the steering rack because it has to be moved to the bottom to make room for the template. Any other teams having packaging issues?

As well I seem to be having trouble finding a production caliper to help offset the loss in the motion ratio. Anybody know of caliper in the 1.25" diameter variety with a pad of similar size.

Mike

James Morris
09-23-2008, 01:00 AM
How about using a pull type master cylinder?

Pull type (http://www.apracing.com/info/products.asp?product=Floor+Mounted+Reversed+Pull+T ype-CP5516-3+Three+Pedal_2351_2342)

Were looking at placing the steering rack in front of the front bulkhead.

Stocky Fast 1
09-23-2008, 05:14 AM
I had previously looked into this but was unsure of whether I could keep the master cylinders low enough to pass the template through till 4 inches from the pedals but at the time I did not know where our steering rack was going to be placed. Thanks, I will have to look more into this.

kapps
09-23-2008, 01:39 PM