PDA

View Full Version : Who drives your car??

SpencerB
04-30-2004, 07:22 PM
Hey Guys,

I'm new to this forum,and new to the FSAE program as well.

After observing my school's FSAE team do some testing at a local kart track, and also watching them do some skidpad testing, I came to realize there are a bunch of novice drivers driving the car. These guys have no clue what a racing line is, how to hit an apex, etc...

How do your teams work? Do the teams recruit 'hot shoe' drivers who will get as much as possible from the car? These people would have open wheel racing experience (not auto-x sedan experience). Or do you just put a 'senior' member into the cockpit and hope he can do well?

I'd like to know how most teams work. Seems to me that a great car isn't anything without a great driver. I'm not an engineer but I have many years of racing experience and know I could help this team win.

Thanks!

Denny Trimble
04-30-2004, 09:14 PM
Spencer,
We only allow core team members to drive. We've been lucky to have some fairly good drivers who have motorsports experience, but since the drivers are also the core crew when it comes to all the details of setting up the car, we select them based on demonstrated work ethic as well as driving skill.

We don't openly recruit drivers from motorsport; on the contrary, a Biology major who is an "autocross expert" provided us with a very entertaining display of his skills, or lack thereof.

A year's worth of seat-time in an FSAE car is an opportunity to learn how to act quickly! Only Karts and F1 cars react more quickly.

James Waltman
04-30-2004, 11:41 PM
You mean people actually drive these things? When I first found out about FSAE I thought it would be awesome to help build one. It was several days before I even thought about who got to drive.