PDA

View Full Version : Structural Equivalency form data

URracing
10-24-2007, 07:31 PM
(Sorry if this post is a bit long, but it's hard to get info across in a simple paragraph. Like they say a 20 pg essay is easier to write than a 5 pg one).

I would have to say we are a new team although we did have a car that last competed in Pontiac in 2001. I say we are new "because we are". Since 2002, several students tried to contribute to a new car but over the years the organization just couldn't get re-established. After some hard work in recruiting and additional fund-raising, I have been able to re-establish the team in hopes of finishing a design that was started in 2002 in hopes of getting to Michigan in 2009.

I'm only in my second year of engineering and probably the only one (out of seven students) with the most FSAE competition experience, which I gained from attending the Michigan 2007 competition.

I searched the topic and came up with only one (1) unuseful post so that is why I'm here now. In 2004 our cockpit space frame was built using 1" x 1" square tubing for EVERYTHING besides the the main hoop and the diagnal brace on the side-impact structure, which are made from round tubing.
Now from what I can tell, square tubing is weaker and heavier in alot of ways over round but the other thing is that they used square tubing with the minumum wall thicknesses as outlined in the rules for ROUND tubing. Now I know your moment of inertia would be higher (at the corners) of the square tubing but round tubing has a higher rigidity in most cases from what I can tell.

So from what I can see, the square tubing is not compliant since they used the minimum wall thicknesses for ROUND tubing, so should I even worry about a SEF or should I start designing a new frame?