PDA

View Full Version : Where to start suspension design

Ericyu
06-11-2008, 03:26 AM
Hello,
I am new to suspension design, so please get me some help.
I want to know where to start, how to determine the parameters? and witch program is for this job, and where can I get some useful knowledges? I am in China, some of those suspension books can't be found here.

Thanks

Ericyu
06-11-2008, 03:26 AM
Hello,
I am new to suspension design, so please get me some help.
I want to know where to start, how to determine the parameters? and witch program is for this job, and where can I get some useful knowledges? I am in China, some of those suspension books can't be found here.

Thanks

exFSAE
06-11-2008, 05:03 AM
See if you can dig up Carroll Smith's "Tune to Win" to start with. Good basic stuff.

To do a legit suspension design, you need tire data. If you don't have tire data, its a crap shoot, but there's some basic rules to follow. C. Smith would have 'em.

There's a wide variety of suspension software available on the market. But again if you don't have specific targets in terms of tire loads / inclinations / slips to aim for, I don't see much value in spending the $500-1500 or whatever on software. May as well just CAD it up and do some simple linkage analysis.

Keep in mind, moderately successful cars have been built with this level (or less..) CAD resources..

http://i292.photobucket.com/albums/mm19/exfsae/Rearupright.jpg
http://i292.photobucket.com/albums/mm19/exfsae/coolshit.jpg
http://i292.photobucket.com/albums/mm19/exfsae/goode.jpg
http://i292.photobucket.com/albums/mm19/exfsae/iso.jpg

Though that may have been the car with minor driver fitment issues (aka only the smallest guy on the team could fit in it.. not sure how we got around that at comp. Was before my time!)

Chris Lane
06-11-2008, 07:38 AM
You really need some form of CAD software, whether it be 2D (AutoCAD) or 3D (Solidworks, ProE, Inventor).