PDA

View Full Version : suspension - statics

GrannySmithApple
06-25-2012, 06:08 AM
Hi all, I'm fairly new to SAE and I want to understand more on designing and developing calculations for suspension systems. So I hope you can help me.

I want to develop a basic 2D static analysis excel spread sheet that can determine the loads on the upper and lower A-arms (whether they are in tension or compression). The diagram below is a front view of a double wishbone with a pull rod suspension. Just want to check whether I am on the right path. How would I calculate the force loading on the pull rod?

If you could provide some guidance or any help, much appreciated!

http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/9767/staticanalysis.jpg

GrannySmithApple
06-25-2012, 06:08 AM
Hi all, I'm fairly new to SAE and I want to understand more on designing and developing calculations for suspension systems. So I hope you can help me.

I want to develop a basic 2D static analysis excel spread sheet that can determine the loads on the upper and lower A-arms (whether they are in tension or compression). The diagram below is a front view of a double wishbone with a pull rod suspension. Just want to check whether I am on the right path. How would I calculate the force loading on the pull rod?

If you could provide some guidance or any help, much appreciated!

http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/9767/staticanalysis.jpg

Nick Renold
06-25-2012, 11:25 AM
For 3D analysis:

http://fsae.com/eve/forums/a/t...20226151#21020226151 (http://fsae.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/125607348/m/98420416151?r=21020226151#21020226151)

For 2D analysis:
Write force balance and moment balance equations for each point. Solve.

GrannySmithApple
06-25-2012, 04:09 PM
Thanks for your quick reply,