PDA

View Full Version : Input on ESC systems...

Dave K
02-24-2008, 03:42 PM
I am pondering some research on running an electronic stability control system on our car next year. If any of you have experience with this, i was wondering if i could get some input on the pros and cons... cost, required experience/difficulty level, time, etc. I have the basic concepts on the control logic behind it all, but other than that i am pretty new to it. Any replies will help.... thanks.

screwdriver
02-24-2008, 04:32 PM
Not an easy task, if you build the control-system yourself. If you can find an off the shelf solution, it'll be quite simple (and you probably won't learn much).

I would be concerned, if they are allowed at all, since the rules are quite explicit about the brake system afik.
The other thing you'll have to think about is, if that will make you go any faster. Imho all that TC and ESC systems are the wrong way to go when it comes to speeding things up, since they tend to slow you down rater than make you faster. That is, if you have experienced drivers, of course.

Pete M
02-24-2008, 07:14 PM
If TC makes you slower then why do Formula One teams always use it whenever it is legal?

The TC and ESC systems in production cars tend to be overly aggressive to stop people who can't drive from getting in trouble. A racing setup would be configured differently.

I don't think stability control would be necessarily illegal either. So long as it can only ever add to braking force rather than subtracting, then it isn't really a safety issue. Check with the rules committee though.

Dave K
02-24-2008, 07:53 PM
If i'm not mistaken, i think you can use an engine cutout to either assist or replace braking (at least with TCS).

exFSAE
02-24-2008, 08:38 PM
How exactly would you do this? Along with what Josef is saying..