PDA

View Full Version : monoshocks...

akshay verma
09-22-2011, 11:07 PM
hi..freinds ...its my first time to build a formula student car.please help me to deciede the suspension system to use....

akshay verma
09-22-2011, 11:07 PM
hi..freinds ...its my first time to build a formula student car.please help me to deciede the suspension system to use....

tgman
09-22-2011, 11:45 PM
Use the same suspension setup as seen on most go karts. http://fsae.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Probably the best place to actually start is to read a book titled "race car vehicle dynamics" by Milliken & Milliken. They cover anything that would be required to design the suspension for a formula sae car.

The design that is probably most suited for these cars is a double unequal length A-arm setup. Wikipedia should tell you enough about that to start designing something. Unless you have a nice design already put the mono shock idea away for a while and use a normal dual system.

If it is possible get a hold of a program called sysprog. It allows you to input your suspension geometry and then performs pretty much all the required calculations.

Look at what you want to achieve in terms and the characteristics of the rest of the car, from there work towards a solution.

PatClarke
09-26-2011, 09:04 PM
Akshay,
Formula Student is a Design Competition! That means you Design a car, or in your case a suspension system. The rules state the car must have 4 wheels and must have a suspension system that permits a minimum of 25mm bump and 25mm droop travel from the normal ride position.
Within those parameters you can surely design some sort of mechanism to achieve this? Be an engineer, I know you really want to be!

Meanwhile, there is this wonderful tool you might not have heard of, it is called 'Google' and it is accessible from any computer connected to the internet.