PDA

View Full Version : Western Washington Approach

drivetrainUW-Platt
06-09-2005, 10:20 AM
I am wondering how you guys look at the event. Most teams keep the same general design and compete yearly, while you guys seem to hide for a few years then come out with something insane (aka V-8 or missile tube frame at the '04 comp). also, instead of doing it because everyone else does it and wins with it, you guys take a diffrent path. James Waltman has become a huge contribitor to this forum lately and thats awsome...just trying to get into your heads I guess

MikeWaggoner at UW
06-09-2005, 10:41 AM
The last car was actually pretty conventional. The tube frame has been around since '96.

The V8 was amazing, and even though it didn't end up working as a racecar, I wish I had been a part of it (I was a newbie as it was dying, and second year cars were banned; I made a new brake pedal and hooked up some coolant hoses).

There are two main reasons WWU does crazy stuff:

1. A cool departmental director, Dr. Seal, and the amazing facilities he has built. He encouraged us to try huge projects. If they worked, great. If not, they were great learning experiences and things to put on our resume. WWU's last successful race car was Viking 28, a turbo methanol beast that weighed in at 440 (with an F3, which is 10 lbs more than the F4's most teams use now).

2. WWU is a tech school. They're adding to the engineering analysis coursework, but it's a recent addition. Many students feel that in order to make up for a lack of engineering analysis on some things, the car needs a little bit special about it to be competitive.

Recently, the team's been plagued by small numbers and organizational problems. I hope they can get it together for next year's competition, and start bringing cars annually (required for successful competition).

Travis Garrison
06-09-2005, 11:38 AM