PDA

View Full Version : Turbo Question

opticnerv
12-09-2009, 09:48 AM
I'm a freshman at my local community college. I will be transffering to four year university with an FSAE team for sure.

I've read that turbos are legal to use. Has anyone ever used a VGT ( Variable Geometry Turbo ) ?

A pretty cool video maybe some one can copy the idea and use it on their car.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MU1od1_kx5g

coastertrav
12-09-2009, 10:06 AM
So, this is either spam, or you accidentally gave us a link to the wrong video. (regardless, I watched the whole video and quite enjoyed it).

This also goes to show that the approval process is worthless.

RenM
12-09-2009, 12:56 PM
i guess not, because there are no vtg turbochargers available in the size needed for fsae.

TorqueWrench
12-09-2009, 01:37 PM
There is a variable nozzle turbocharger in our size range available. Not quite the same, but same general concept. Acts as a small turbo at low RPM and a larger turbo at high RPM.

ibanezplayer
12-09-2009, 01:47 PM
I am unaware of anyone using the Garrett GT15V, however it is offered to FSAE teams under their sponsorship program.

"The GT15V turbocharger has variable nozzle turbine vanes. The vanes are controlled by a pneumatic actuator and can be used with a maximum turbine inlet temperature of 825°C. The design and calibration of the control scheme is up to the Formula SAE team."

You can find lots of information about what Garrett / Honeywell do and require for sponsorships (free turbo each year) by simply googling "garrett fsae" and looking at the first link. The 4th link down leads back to this forum which has links to useful turbine maps, drawings, etc.

Hope this helps.

TorqueWrench
12-09-2009, 01:56 PM