PDA

View Full Version : Spindle Dimensions

Gary
05-07-2004, 01:18 AM
Hey Guys,
We are currently doing the calcs on the front spindles and using a max cornering force of 1.7g we cannot seem to reduce the spindle shaft size from 35mm OD/20mm ID to anything smaller without reducing the factor of safety. Just wondering what shaft sizes other teams run and if they have had failures in the past and where the spindle has failed.

thanks heaps guys

Amos
05-07-2004, 02:20 AM
What sort of factor of safety are you using???? Thatsa chunky meatball!!!!
I'm assuming you're calculating the moment at the centre of the spindle and then finding the maximum compression tension in the spindle?? Or are you considering the shear from the resultant vertical load also?

I'v just calculated for max compression tension ie stress = M*c/I where c is the maximum distance from centre line. Using this only have a spindle thickness of 3mm.....

Otherwise i can't help ya much, i'm new to this too!!

Ashley Denmead
05-07-2004, 02:46 AM
factor of safety? hmmm

aim for a FOS of about 1.00001 http://fsae.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif so it breaks as you cross the finish line!!....otherwise it may be considered over designed...haha or maybe you wish to take your car overseas?

i'de be interested to know what people use as a FOS for certain areas of the car.

Denny Trimble
05-07-2004, 06:54 AM
It depends if you're using a fixed or rotating spindle (fatigue calcs, bearing locations). Also, heat-treated 4340 can be trusted to very high stress levels. Of course larger-OD, thinner-wall sections are more efficient, but you have to add the weight of the required wheel bearing and hub sizes into this too.

Don't forget to add the brake caliper reaction force into your calculations. It may add or subtract from the moment on the spindle. And, finally, if you have a CNC lathe, make sure you do lots of tapering.