PDA

View Full Version : Dry Sump Research

FlashArts
06-13-2011, 04:12 PM
I am currently doing some research on dry sump systems. More than likely it will be fitted to a gxr600, but I would like to to know what other teams feel about the topic, since I am new to engineering and FSAE.

So far I know there is two routes you can take
1) getting a pan/system off the shelf
2) designing pan/system specific for car setup.

Obviously the second option would be better engineering wise, but I am concerned with it being reliable, and the first option would be simpler, but I am concerned with cost and possible weight gain (since design might be overkill for FSAE).

I am looking for pros and cons along with helpful advice from teams who have had success with their drysump systems

rmk36
06-13-2011, 07:32 PM
We tried it. It certainly helped keep oil pressures where we wanted them, but we had to run electric water pumps because the wet sump pump, and mechanical water pump were driven off the same shaft, and the dry sump pump was in the way of the mechanical water pump.

This created charging issues, cooling issues, etc.

It also was expensive and added weight.

I'm not saying there is nothing to gain from a dry sump. I feel there are a lot of advantages of it, but we didn't have enough time to really develop it on our first go at it.

MechanicalChris
06-13-2011, 08:38 PM
Interesting..

rmk36, can you pinpoint why you had cooling issues with the electric cooling system?

FlashArts, I would suggest looking into your own system (pan, pump, etc). Unless there is a manufacturer who makes specific dry sump pans for our applications.. I may be wrong but I daresay they don't exist and would probably need a whole bunch of modifying anyway.

FlashArts
06-14-2011, 07:47 AM