PDA

View Full Version : Paddle Shift System

Der Krug
02-09-2011, 04:51 PM
Hello-
I am in the process of designed a sequential shift system using pneumatics for actuation of the gear box. I was wondering if there were other experienced teams who could provide insight on setup, and perhaps how they measure solenoid flow rates to get measurements on how many shifts a certain volume of air @ pressure would last. I am a freshman and this is basically a side project, that may or may not even end up on the car this year unless it can be pulled together by the end of March. So in essence, how many people run control units, and is it even worth the trouble- as opposed to just running a straight signal to trip the solenoid valve. Recommended parts etc...i've searched on this forum and didn't find what I wanted so I figured I'd sign up and make a post.

Thanks,

Steve

Der Krug
02-09-2011, 04:51 PM
Hello-
I am in the process of designed a sequential shift system using pneumatics for actuation of the gear box. I was wondering if there were other experienced teams who could provide insight on setup, and perhaps how they measure solenoid flow rates to get measurements on how many shifts a certain volume of air @ pressure would last. I am a freshman and this is basically a side project, that may or may not even end up on the car this year unless it can be pulled together by the end of March. So in essence, how many people run control units, and is it even worth the trouble- as opposed to just running a straight signal to trip the solenoid valve. Recommended parts etc...i've searched on this forum and didn't find what I wanted so I figured I'd sign up and make a post.

Thanks,

Steve

Some Guy
02-09-2011, 05:19 PM
Well, I'd want to know more about what you are trying to accomplish with this. Is it a case of "this will dramatically improve the performance of the car" or "we need to run an air shifter because everyone else does".