PDA

View Full Version : Bell Crank v/s Wheel Travel

Avjot
10-22-2012, 10:34 AM
I am a First year student and I have started studying about Bell Crank.The motion ratio that i got initially by using solid works and excel was Decreasing for Jounce as well as Rebound.
I know that this means that the dampers get stiff during Jounce and Rebound.
Is this correct?
Can you please help me over this?

acedeuce802
10-22-2012, 11:41 AM
It depends on what you use for motion ratio. I typically see motion ratio definited as spring travel over wheel travel, but I've experienced confusion on my team, of some members using wheel travel over spring travel.

I know you can figure this one out by yourself. What is the equation that relates spring rate to wheel rate? Setup your jounce and rebound iteration in Excel, enter your spring rate, apply the motion ratio/wheel rate equation, and make a graph. What does your wheel rate curve look like?

Avjot
10-23-2012, 08:44 AM
The curve that i got in the motion ratio v/s wheel travel was bell shaped. Is it correct or not?
What should be the curve like?

Owen Thomas
10-23-2012, 09:27 AM
The answer to your question depends heavily on where your travel starts and finishes. The graph you're looking at should represent a piece of a sine curve, so yes it could look like a bell.

You seem to be having trouble visualizing what's happening physically, which makes it dangerous to jump right in to the maths as you have. Think of it this way: