PDA

View Full Version : KTM 525 motor

Kyle Roggenkamp
08-29-2007, 07:03 PM
So I've been using the search feature while lurking on these forums, but haven't been able to find much information on this motor.
I'm looking for torque and power numbers, as well as the dry weight of the motor/transmission.

I've heard numbers in the mid 40's for hp and mid 30's for torque, but these seem low...

What teams have run this motor before? Has anyone tried punching the motor out to a 540 or 570?

benny41
08-30-2007, 04:55 AM
g'day
we run a 525 ktm at deakin. to be honest im not sure on all the specs of the engine as this is my first year but i do know the other guys have thrown out figures of about 50 hp. good to see another team lookin at the ktm option.
cheers

Ashley Denmead
08-30-2007, 05:33 AM
Hi Kyle,

Benny is pretty close to the money, in the past we have had about 45hp and about 37Nm of torque...since then weve done a bit of work so hope to bring these figures up somewhat.

the engine weights 35kg approx

i dont believe you will see any noticable gains from increasing the engine capacity much beyond a 510cc but i could be wrong....we've had some good gains from cam tuning and plenum volume.

good luck!!

Ash

Kyle Roggenkamp
08-30-2007, 06:05 AM
^^thanks for the info. That helps a lot.

I'm interested in hearing more about the big bores, but I'm also not convinced that it'll do any good since we probably won't really be able to fill the cylinder anyway because of the restrictor plate...

rjwoods77
08-30-2007, 08:28 AM
UB ran one in 97 with a aerocharger on it. Rumor around the shop has it they made 93hp on it but couldnt hold it together for long. I wonder why? Our team when it was doing well in the late 90's was absolutely obsessed with power and had some of the strongest engines out there. I am not suggesting running any kind of forced induction but I really wouldnt worry to much about power. Just get it in there and worry about power later.

Big Bird