PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and bachelor thesis about initial suspension design

MP4/4
06-12-2013, 07:09 AM
Hi,

I am currently in my last semester of my industrial engineering degree. I am from Germany and also study here. I've choosen to write on a thesis about the suspension for a FSAE race car.

Here's the thing:
The old team never built or constructed a FSAE car. All they did was buying random stuff like dampers, seats, a stick welder.
They did't do one thing in CAD.

I don't know the reasons for this.

All I know is that I am passionate about racing since I am 8 years old. That's when I started racing go karts. From there on I raced until I was 17 years old. Then school unfortunatly interfered.

So, Iam currently in the topic finding process. The biggest constrain I have is that I absolutly start from srcatch. There is no data, I can use.

I've looked at some white papers, but everybody was building up onto something that is already there.

So my question is:

What would you concentrate on, when writting the bachelor thesis about the development of a suspension system?
I can't make it to big, because I only have three months time. So I need to cut out some things.

From what I know, you obviously start from the tires and move towards the inside from there.

The initial things, would be the attachement points of the suspension to the upright and to the chassis right? From thereon, the chassis can be designed.

When I was speaking with my supervising professor, he also said, designing and constructing them in CAD would probably be to much.

So from your experience, for a first year team, what should I concentrate on in the thesis? Kinematics, or also the design of an upright with load cases etc.

I want to make an initial step, for further teams to come, to finally get started with the project.
Developing the suspension, I think is the right starting point for that.

P.S. They built a chassis, but heck knows, from what drawing the built it.