PDA

View Full Version : Testing Data Collecting Application

pthickett
10-26-2006, 09:38 AM
Guys,

I am a student at Aston University, and i am writing a windows based programme to be used when testing the car to collect data.

Just wondering if anyone has any requests with what fields they would find helpful, i have a list of already apparent fields below. Obviously i will post a link up here when its done for everyone to use :-)

Cheers

Pete

Fields So Far:
Car
Venue
Date
Weather conditions
Visible track conditions
Ambient temperature
Track temperature
Tyre Temperature
Driver
Driver Comments
Lap times

any more ideas would be very welcome

pthickett
10-26-2006, 09:38 AM
Guys,

I am a student at Aston University, and i am writing a windows based programme to be used when testing the car to collect data.

Just wondering if anyone has any requests with what fields they would find helpful, i have a list of already apparent fields below. Obviously i will post a link up here when its done for everyone to use :-)

Cheers

Pete

Fields So Far:
Car
Venue
Date
Weather conditions
Visible track conditions
Ambient temperature
Track temperature
Tyre Temperature
Driver
Driver Comments
Lap times

any more ideas would be very welcome

Jersey Tom
10-26-2006, 09:42 AM
We're taken care of by MoTeC, but I'd reccomend..

Corner weights
Springs
Roll bars
Damper settings
Static toe
Static camber
Ackermann
Tire size, compound, # of heat cycles or laps..

pthickett
10-26-2006, 09:58 AM
I have heard anything motec is amazing, i have only used it on the GTR racing game!

Is there any need for any more than two tyre temps per tyre? I mean position wise. I have heard its quite common for people to measure temps on the inside middle and outside of a tyre.

Jersey Tom
10-26-2006, 12:07 PM
MoTeC is pretty nice. You pay for the software. Incredibly intuitive and easy to setup and use.