PDA

View Full Version : Rear outboard suspension design questions

Mike Huang
03-01-2009, 06:09 AM
Hi guys, I am new to FSAE, and I am now just started to do research and design the rear outboard suspension. There are very few book/website that explain these components in detail, and I have searched all the related post I can find in thie forum, but just got myself confused.

Can anyone kindly explain to me that how many forms/combinations of upright/hub/spindle can be used for rear? what are the pros/cons? can a fixed spindle used for rear?

Thank you

Mike Huang
03-01-2009, 06:09 AM
Hi guys, I am new to FSAE, and I am now just started to do research and design the rear outboard suspension. There are very few book/website that explain these components in detail, and I have searched all the related post I can find in thie forum, but just got myself confused.

Can anyone kindly explain to me that how many forms/combinations of upright/hub/spindle can be used for rear? what are the pros/cons? can a fixed spindle used for rear?

Thank you

Drew Price
03-01-2009, 10:14 AM
Assuming that you will have rear wheel drive, it would be very difficult to drive the wheels with them rotating around a dead spindle!

You will have some sort of halfshaft or rear axle assembly powered by the engine, and you have to couple that to the wheel flanges. Usually there is some sort of drive hub that passes through the rear uprights to drive the wheels.

Look through photos in the old 'Competitions' threads.

Do some google image searches, like:

'rear suspension uprights' (http://images.google.com/images?gbv=2&ndsp=20&hl=en&q=rear+suspension+uprights&start=0&sa=N)

Best,
Drew

Mike Huang
03-01-2009, 10:29 AM
Thanks for reply

Am I right that torque from dirve shaft goes to spindle (spin indside upright on the wheel bearing) through CV joint, and then to the wheel hub by spinle, and the wheel rim is bolted onto the hub?