PDA

View Full Version : Max ignition timing

R Mac
10-09-2003, 10:58 AM
This is kinda a very general question, but I am new to tuning sport bike engines, and looking to see what kind of ignition timing other teams are running out there. What I am mainly looking to see would be what timing do you guys seem to be idleing at, and what is the max advance timing your run. Thanks.

R Mac
10-09-2003, 10:58 AM
This is kinda a very general question, but I am new to tuning sport bike engines, and looking to see what kind of ignition timing other teams are running out there. What I am mainly looking to see would be what timing do you guys seem to be idleing at, and what is the max advance timing your run. Thanks.

B Lewis @ PE Engine Management
10-09-2003, 09:19 PM
Hi Ryan,

Ignition timing depends on the engine. Based on my experience, Hondas don't see too much improvent from about 8k on with more than 45 degrees. Suzukis seem to like a little more than that. As far as at idle, try 10-12 degrees to start.

Give me a call offline if you need anymore help.

Brian Lewis
Performance Electronics, Ltd.
www.pe-ltd.com (http://www.pe-ltd.com)
"Complete Engine Management Systems"

Chris Boyden
10-13-2003, 12:57 PM
the 99' R6 likes 55 degrees BTDC which is all in by 5200 rpm. I initially had no more than 40 btdc, but then I found this spec in the Yamaha manual. We used similar numbers to what Brian mentioned for the idle.

But these numbers are for the stock "unrestricted" engine.

[This message was edited by Boyden on October 13, 2003 at 04:20 PM.]

Chris Boyden
10-13-2003, 01:16 PM