PDA

View Full Version : Shocks from scratch

Nbruno
09-12-2010, 06:11 PM
Hey guys. My school is restarting our FSAE program after a ~10 year hiatus. I've been put in charge of shocks, springs and swaybars on our new car. This is my first time doing this kind of design work, so I'm trying to gather as much info as possible. I've been looking into different manufactures, and as far as I can tell, only Ohlins and Penske make specific FSAE shocks, but the standard model for those are quarter midget shocks. Is that accurate? I've also heard that mountainbike shocks are also used, but I've been advised against using those because of the differing requirements for the two dampers.

The shocks on the most recent car are Carrera (I think). It would be great if I could re-use these, since we are a new team and on a limited budget...but I also don't want the car to be a dog. Is there any sort of middle of the road setup out there that works well? Also, is it a good idea to re-use the 10 year old bellcranks and swaybars? Thanks guys, sorry if I sound like a noob.

BMH
09-12-2010, 08:53 PM
Check out shocks made by Tanner Racing. They work pretty well for our application and are lightweight. They run about $180 or so a pop, with the spring being about $25 or so from the same supplier. You can probably find springs cheaper somewhere else if you looked hard enough.

Demon Of Speed
09-12-2010, 08:55 PM
The cost report index has a list of most all the shocks people use. You names the ones most people use. It is true that the mountain bike shocks are not the best, but they do work and are a lot cheaper then the specific FSAE shocks. If you have time to test you can re-shim/re-valve the mountain bike shocks (if they are made to be taken apart).