PDA

View Full Version : Pnuematic Shifting

mikalo28
09-07-2009, 08:08 PM
Hi all.
My name is Michael, I'm from the university of QLD Australia. I'm studying Mechatronic engineering.
I'm doing my 4th year thesis project on the Pneumatic Shifting system for the uni's fsae car.
I am searching for articals and academic papers on the topic.

I'm having a very hard time finding anything.
If anyone has come across any articles on the topic could they please let me know.
Or Any other ideas on where to find more information?

Thanks , Michael

More About My Project:

The system will comprise of:
- a High Pressure Air bottle,
- valves
- pneumatic actuator
- gear feedback sensor
- Circuit board.

Up and Down shifts will be initiated by the driver via paddles on the steering wheels.

By programming an Atmega Microcontroller, I hope to achieve the following functions:
- full control of the valves (which will enable half shifts into neutral)
- Auto Up shift (at optimum rpm) (can be switched on and off by the driver)
- Gear position feedback
- neutral finder button

mikalo28
09-07-2009, 08:08 PM
Hi all.
My name is Michael, I'm from the university of QLD Australia. I'm studying Mechatronic engineering.
I'm doing my 4th year thesis project on the Pneumatic Shifting system for the uni's fsae car.
I am searching for articals and academic papers on the topic.

I'm having a very hard time finding anything.
If anyone has come across any articles on the topic could they please let me know.
Or Any other ideas on where to find more information?

Thanks , Michael

More About My Project:

The system will comprise of:
- a High Pressure Air bottle,
- valves
- pneumatic actuator
- gear feedback sensor
- Circuit board.

Up and Down shifts will be initiated by the driver via paddles on the steering wheels.

By programming an Atmega Microcontroller, I hope to achieve the following functions:
- Gear position feedback
- neutral finder button

Corey H
09-07-2009, 09:01 PM