PDA

View Full Version : Minimizing weight

Marco Antonitti
10-23-2009, 04:19 PM
Just to start, I'm new to the site, but have been on it quite often, seeing what's been going on around the different schools. Just to say a bit about myself, I'm from Montreal Canada, I graduated from mechanical engineering, and have a diploma in car mechanics. I'm currently studying aircraft mechanics since I work as a mechanical system designer in the aerospace industry.

I had taken part of the sae team in my school, unfortunately due to budget cuts, we got the short end of the stick. Regardless, my dream is to build my very own.

I'm not planning on using this car to compete in SAE, but I would like to follow the rules to some extent. I'm working on figuring out what I want out of the race car. I'm a huge fan of light weight/strong systems.

In short, my question is, how many of your cars have batteries in them, and who has replaced them with other means, such as capacitors? THis is the start of my modification. In fact, the use of capacitors to run the electrical system in the race car will be my test for my next modification.

I'd really like to know what you guys are doing. thanks!

Marco Antonitti
10-23-2009, 04:19 PM
Just to start, I'm new to the site, but have been on it quite often, seeing what's been going on around the different schools. Just to say a bit about myself, I'm from Montreal Canada, I graduated from mechanical engineering, and have a diploma in car mechanics. I'm currently studying aircraft mechanics since I work as a mechanical system designer in the aerospace industry.

I had taken part of the sae team in my school, unfortunately due to budget cuts, we got the short end of the stick. Regardless, my dream is to build my very own.

I'm not planning on using this car to compete in SAE, but I would like to follow the rules to some extent. I'm working on figuring out what I want out of the race car. I'm a huge fan of light weight/strong systems.