PDA

View Full Version : Tyre Choice

Flying_Marshie
03-03-2009, 02:20 AM
Hi All

This is my first year in FS and infact my teams first year. I have been tasked with the job of finding tyres to use on our car.
I've looked at Hoosier, Goodyear and Dunlop. Without much information on these tyres I cant make an educated choice and I have to justify spending that much cash on tyres.
Can anyone help out on which tyre would be best to use. Let me know about any good/bad experiences you've had with certain tyres or any relevant information you think will help.

Thanks!!

FStotal.com
03-03-2009, 02:56 AM
Hallo Flying_Marshie,

If your team is a first year competitor then look what tyres you can get for a good price inclusive shipping costs.

When you are finished your car building then test as much as possible and you will get good results.

For a first car the timefaktor is the one you should beat.

If you got enough money you can also buy data from the Tire Test Concortium (http://fsae.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/125607348). Most teams use them for their second or third cars when they more understand these data and use them for simulations.

Literature Tires: (http://fsae.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/125607348/m/1956095883)

Clark, Samuel K. (Editor), Mechanics of Pneumatic Tires, 2nd Ed. U.S. Dept. of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 1981. U.S. Govt. Reference #: 050-003-00377-8.

Hays, D.F. & Browne, A.L., The Physics of Tire Traction. Plenum, 1973. ISBN 0-306-30806-1.

Kummer, H.W. & Mayer, W.E., Unified Theory of Rubber and Tire Friction. University Park, PA.: Pennsylvania State University, 1966

Moore, D.F., The Friction of Pneumatic Tyres. Elsevier, 1975. ISBN 0-444-41323-5

Pacejka, Hans B. Tire and Vehicle Dynamics, Second Edition

THE RACING & HIGH-PERFORMANCE TIRE, Using the Tires to Tune for Grip and Balance (R-351) by Paul Haney

exFSAE
03-03-2009, 05:13 AM