PDA

View Full Version : Composites Kit

jjund
07-21-2009, 10:12 AM
Does anyone know of a US vendor that sells a composites starter kit? I found one in the UK that sells some carbon, epoxy, hardener, and release agent in a small kit, but it's expensive to ship to the US...

jjund
07-21-2009, 10:12 AM
Does anyone know of a US vendor that sells a composites starter kit? I found one in the UK that sells some carbon, epoxy, hardener, and release agent in a small kit, but it's expensive to ship to the US...

Pennyman
07-21-2009, 10:30 AM
TAP plastics.

Not a starter kit, but pretty much everything you need. West Marine is pretty good for extra resin too.

RiNaZ
07-21-2009, 04:02 PM
jjund, try soller composites. They support a lot of FSAE teams, so you can probably get some sample or discounted materials.

What are you trying to build?

jjund
07-22-2009, 06:51 AM
I'm relatively new to compsites work, so I want to try some small independent projects. In the past, I have been assisting on projects, using our team's supply of carbon and resin.

Thanks a lot for the help.

Drew Price
07-23-2009, 12:33 AM
Go to the hardware store. Buy some general purpose polyester fiberglass resin, and some cheap boat/hobby/repair woven glass or chopped-strand-mat (for building up thickness, for moulds, etc.). It comes in like 4ftx4ft swatches for a couple of dollars. Cheapest paintbrushes they have, latex gloves, popsicle sticks, and trash bin liners so you don't get Dad's garage all sploogy.

Then read up a bunch on mould and part design, or pick something interesting but simply shaped to pull a mould from. Something you could actually use, like an oil drip pan, desk organizer, or a 4-element rear airfoil with razored trailing edges and kevlar uni stays would all be good choices.