PDA

View Full Version : Upright Mass Comparison

SURTES Smith
04-14-2016, 07:25 AM
Good afternoon everyone,

My name is Matt Smith and I am a member of Team SURTES at the University of Surrey. Last year I was a placement student working within the team and this year I am a member of the Suspension sub-team, primarily responsible for the design and manufacture of the uprights.

In previous years of upright design within our team, the responsible has often fallen upon those who are not exactly keen on partaking in the competition and so their designs have been lackluster which gave me a very poor benchmark to improve upon with regards to stiffness and mass.

What is the lightest upright your team has ever produced (ignoring those which may have failed or had extreme deflections? I've been trying to find information on this previously but to no avail.

My uprights this year are ~0.35kg for both the front and rears.

Jay Lawrence
04-14-2016, 11:04 PM
That sounds very light, from memory. Can you post up a picture?

Z
04-15-2016, 12:05 AM
Matt,

I agree with Jay.

A reasonably low mass for the whole "corner assembly" (= tyre/wheel/axle/upright/brake/suspension-bits/etc.) is about 15 kg (to nearest 5 kg). Your upright is ~2% of that. So...

DO NOT MAKE IT ANY LIGHTER!

You are now near the very end of the "Law of Dimishing Returns" curve. Namely, infinitely more "optimisation" only saves you ~2% of the corner mass. A very poor Return on Investment!

Better is to focus on making that part stronger and stiffer, at same mass, or find other parts of the car to rework.

Good idea to post an image of the part. I suspect that in reality, as opposed to CAD, it will be exceedingly weak and floppy...

Z

Mitchell
04-15-2016, 12:12 AM
Either your upright is unfinished or you have not specified you mass properties correctly. Under 400g is hardly even a bearing housing.

SURTES Smith
04-15-2016, 08:50 AM
Just to confirm a few things.