PDA

View Full Version : Question about multiple teams

lackmaster
11-03-2013, 01:53 PM
Hello everyone,
I am a student at Tennessee Tech University and recently we had some issues with our team. Over 2/3 of the members, including myself, from the previous years team were either ran off or flat out suspended from the team.
Keeping this in mind, I was curious if there was any rule keeping the members that were kicked off from competing with a second car from the same university. Now we would be under a different name and adviser just the same university and we understand that we would also have to have a separate entry fee as we would be a separate entity. From the research that I have done, no rule talks about having more than one team at the university other than the Article that mentions EV and IC teams. I don't know if that applies since we would be an IC team as well.
Any feedback is welcome. Thanks!
-Lackmaster

Claude Rouelle
11-03-2013, 02:52 PM
1 question. 1 suggestion. 1 comment
- Kicked off by who? Why? You mat want to solve this first.
- If the first car was an internal combustion car then make an electric or vice versa.
- A uni is uni. Starting with 2 teams from the same ini because there was some sort of ...what...disagreement..? is not a good beginning. I hope the main goal is not to show "the others" that you can do at least as well; if that is your main motivation I doubt about the success of the enterprise. That would not be in the FSAE spirit either. In Formula One your worst compettitor is your team mate, but please this is not Formula One.

lackmaster
11-03-2013, 03:10 PM
Thanks for responding,
We were kicked by our adviser and current president of the organization. The reason cited for us being removed was due to "turmoil" that we caused on the team. While yes, turmoil was created, it was because these members saw an issue with the car being designed by an alumni of the team, after he had graduated from the university.