PDA

View Full Version : How to be a rookie judge?

Cardriverx
10-02-2013, 05:34 PM
To the judges on here,

I graduated last year and want to start the process to become a rookie judge at Michigan this year and give back to FSAE. It seems kinda hard to find out who to contact about this... Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks!

Jay Lawrence
10-02-2013, 10:42 PM
From my experience, it seems that judges are chosen by the competition via their sponsorship (and often have no clue), or are long standing members of the FSAE community (Claude, Pat, etc.). Having spoken to some volunteers, the impression is that you have to volunteer for a while (flag marshalling, practice track controller, etc.), thus qualifying as being a 'long standing member' before getting near the judging tent.

mdavis
10-02-2013, 10:55 PM
I just had this discussion with Kaley Zundel about volunteering earlier today. I'd start with an email to her, and tell her what you're interested in. Here's her email address: kzundel@sae.org

Big Bird
10-03-2013, 12:35 AM
Just a polite clarification if I may

We have a number of long standing judges here in Australia, but we also are continuously on the lookout for new judging talent. Many of the long-standing judges and officials are looking towards the new generation to step in and to start taking command of the FSAE-A ship. So there are judging positions available here, allocated on a merit basis.

If you are interested in a judging role here by all means send us your resume / details and you will be considered. Over the past few years a number of FSAE alumni have been Design judges, and have completed the task very successfully. For those who may only be a year or two past graduation, if selected we would probably put you in a supervised position simply because of possible perception of bias towards (or against!) the team you came from. Otherwise the positions are open to the best candidates we can find.

All enquiries can be sent to: formulasae@sae-a.com.au