PDA

View Full Version : Braking System Design questions

pereira1
09-14-2013, 08:26 PM
Hi everyone.
My name is Amon Pereira. I'm studying at Mechanical Engineering At Purdue University. I'm currently attempting to develop the braking system of our first Formula Electric car. Through matlab calculations, I've narrowed down our brake setup to a few choices. However, I'm having trouble committing to a design.
I have a few questions that need to be answered before I can make a final decision on our brake system:

1)What kind of deceleration g's do formula sae car typically experience without an aero package?
Seeing the results of the deceleration event in Formula SAE Austria (you may see the results at the bottom of the post)I'm considering to design our car's braking system to brake at 1.5 g's. However, one of our new members who was part of another university team, pointed out that Formula student cars typically see a deceleration of 1.0g's in competition. I need to know this value to account for weight transfer properly. If I can't know what kind of deceleration our car will be capable of, our brake system will be designed to brake at certain range of braking g's. Using the bias bar would be one of the ways of designing for that range of deceleration.

2)Can FSAE car tires have a coefficient of friction of more than 1.4 ? Do I need tire consortium data or will a rule of thumb suffice?

3) Has anyone used Dynalight or Dynapro Calipers from Willwood in their brake setup ? If yes, did they provide too much of braking torque ?
Calculations were done using Dynalight and Dynapro calipers in all four tires. It was determined that this kind of setup would be adequate to decelerate at 1.5 g since it would not put a lot of strain on the driver. However this setup would be excessive if the tires can only handle a deceleration of 1.0g's before slipping. On top of this these calipers also cause the car to have a lot more unsprung mass.