PDA

View Full Version : Interesting day in the dyno.... (pic)

RagingGrandpa
08-06-2004, 10:09 AM
http://www-personal.engin.umich.edu/~lovelljc/F4iGoBoom.jpg

Whoops

Dan Deussen @ Weber Motor
08-06-2004, 12:08 PM
I'm no expert....but I dare to say JB-Weld won't patch that hole http://fsae.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif .

This pic is not quite so spectacular. It shows how a badly timed cam can cause a valve to hit the piston -> a connection rod to bend -> the rod to come through the case.
http://cs.svsu.edu/~dsdeusse/BrokenEngine_small.JPG

BeaverGuy
08-06-2004, 06:05 PM
Raging Grandpa,

Is that a ZX6R? It sure is some interesting carngage.

BryanH
08-06-2004, 07:00 PM
If f-sae engines had feelings they would be friggin terrified of the sound of the dyno being turned on, with one of Charlies "new teamers" standing there grinning at them.....

The guru of guru's
08-07-2004, 03:26 AM
Holey moley...thats a huge bitch!
You know what they say....thats racing!!! I suppose a few tubes of ultra copper is out of the question for that minor repair.

Charlie
08-07-2004, 05:11 AM
It's an F4i, you can tell its not an F4 by the gold 8mm case bolts on the front; F4 has silver 6mm case bolts. Yes I am a sick man...

-
08-07-2004, 10:43 AM
So who is the unlucky soul who gets to go find a replacement for that...

Can I ask what happened to get the motor to gernade like that?

alfordda
08-07-2004, 07:07 PM
Charlie, you are not alone. I have seen to many F4/F4i's torn apart, as well.

RagingGrandpa
08-08-2004, 06:38 AM
Suffice to say, be damn sure all the wrist pin clips are installed and fully seated before holding an engine at 10,000 rpm.

And I'm the poor bastard desperately seeking the privelage to shell out $1,200+ for a new engine.

Denny Trimble
08-08-2004, 06:42 AM
Wrist pin clip failure... sounds familiar! (http://students.washington.edu/dennyt/fsae/thrown_rod_web/)

You weren't running wiseco pistons, were you?

-
08-08-2004, 10:11 AM